When Inspiration Strikes – A Non-Tutorial

Here’s a hint—when inspiration strikes, leave your excitement for your work on edge. Don’t work on your project so much that the inspiration burns out, because it’ll leave you in the dust and without motivation for a while. Honestly, those two sentences are all you need to know, but naturally, I’m gonna write a full blog entry about it and how I came to this realization. Of course, as this is a Non-Tutorial, I will not be telling you guys what to do, but rather, what I’ve done and maybe you can consider it or something like that.

I realized this a couple weeks ago, but didn’t actually get the chance to apply it to my own work until this morning. Bursts of inspiration are pretty rare when it comes to art of any kind, but when you get one, it feels like you hit the jackpot. When you get a burst of inspiration, you just want to work on your project for hours and hours on end, perhaps to make up for a bit of a slow period you ran into. I totally understand that. These sorts of things happen to me all the time. I’m currently in a slow period with Black Crystal – The Essence, but I still have faith that I can reach my goal. I just need to write more. (I’m only 10,000 words away from meeting my goal, and I still have 30 days left.) Once inspiration strikes, I’ll be sure to keep it slow so I don’t burn out, but here’s my actual example.

This morning, I was working on my game DATABASE – Thank You For Calling. I’ve managed to program a cutscene, the beginning of a new dungeon, a new weapon, and two new enemies which can be encountered in this dungeon, and all done in just a couple hours before I had to leave for work. Even so, I’m still feeling so inspired, I want to keep going. I want to program it all the way to the boss fight at the end of the first dungeon, but I won’t do so until tomorrow morning. I realized that if I keep going to the point that I want to, the inspiration would eventually falter, and I’d fall back into a slow period, but I’m getting close to the end of the prologue, so I’d rather it not do that. (Well, there’s actually still a lot I need to do before I reach the end of the prologue since the last scenes change entirely based on your decisions throughout the chapter and I’ll need to individually program each scene, as well as compose the music for every part of the game. There’s a lot I still need to do, but I’m still very proud of my work. It’s really turning out to be an awesome game.

All of that being said, that’s exactly what I mean in writing this Non-Tutorial. Take it slow, relax, and, for lack of a better phrase, tease your inspiration. Work on it a little, then stop. Give your brain a rest, then repeat the process. Sorry to cut this one short, but I think I made my point pretty quickly. Tomorrow, we’ll do the first weekly recap of the month. I will see you awesome people then.

Leave a Reply

