Weekly Writing Report (07/29 – 08/04)

We find ourselves at the end of another week, or rather, the first week of the month. Whether it’s been good, bad, or neutral for you guys, I hope you can take a moment to breathe slowly, relax, and be proud of yourself for making it to this point. I hope you read the entry regarding the journey to loving yourself. That’s probably the most important entry I’ve written all week, and it’s one that I want you to follow. I’ll always be referring back to it myself to assure that I am making the necessary positive changes in my life that I need.

Speaking of being positive in a negative situation, I found out my account was overdrawn recently, but it’s okay. I also got paid today, so I’ll just resolve the matter over time. The only difficult part is that my family gets worried about it a little too much. It’s gonna be okay, though. I know that for a fact.

Anyway, let’s get to what this entry is really about! This week has been incredibly productive. Actually, it’s more like Wednesday, yesterday, and today were the more productive days while the rest of the week was more like a rest week. Thinking back on all my work, I’m very proud and content with it. I’ve started recording more videos at the request of a couple incredible friends of mine, I’m making strides in my game by keeping my inspiration on edge and only working on it in the morning, though since the weekend is coming up, I’ll likely work on it a little extra, but hopefully no longer than about five hours.

I didn’t get any work done on the soundtrack, but I did get a couple pages written in Black Crystal – The Essence. Not a whole lot, but a significant character has “come back to life” after everyone thought he was dead. It’s a complicated thing and I don’t want to spoil anything if any of you ever want to read the series, but it’s a nice turn, and it means the story is finally getting more positive.

This is a very good thing, since, as I mentioned in a previous entry last month, my works tend to affect how I feel, and the past 100 pages have been weighing heavily on me. It’s not a bunch of brooding, depressing stuff; there’s definitely comedic relief throughout, but I was legitimately mourning the losses of certain characters. I got too attached to them and hated seeing them go. As the author of the book, you might ask me “then why did you let them die?” Well, when you’ve been writing for as long as I have, you learn that the best stories write themselves. All you do is put it to words what’s happening. Sometimes, you no longer have control of the steering wheel and watch in terror as these things happen. It’s both incredible and terrifying.

And now, for the amazing work I’ve gotten done in my game. At the start of the week, I was hesitant to progress the story. There was a certain map I had to build where it was the exterior of a castle, but every draft of the castle I made was awful, and I couldn’t program the new cutscene without making the map, so it was a bit of a low point until Wednesday of this week. I came up with a simplistic design and elaborated on it, and in a matter of minutes, I had a castle fit for the aura of the location and even programmed the cutscene that takes place during it.

Then on Thursday and today, I’ve been working on the first dungeon in the game, which is literally the dungeon of that castle, and holy crap, it’s awesome. It’s simplistic, but it actually feels like a legitimate game now! It makes me so proud. This game really is gonna be my favorite game of all time, and I love it. Once I’m done programming the prologue chapter, I’ll be working on a soundtrack that should make the game even greater.

I’m so glad I’m ending the week on such a positive note. It’s still early in the day and I still have six hours left of work, but you know what? It’s gonna be okay. I’m learning to love myself, which makes me even prouder of the work I’ve done. I hope all of you have accomplished something you’re proud of. Even if it’s simply waking up today when dealing with a lot of stress, depression, anything that makes it difficult to get up, I’m so fucking proud of you. You’re tougher than a lot of us, so keep fighting the good fight. I hope you all have a lovely weekend, and I’ll be back with you guys next Monday.

Leave a Reply

