Weekly Writing Report (08/05 – 08/11)

Greetings, friends! It’s been quite a week that both feels like it went on for so long, but also passed in the blink of an eye. That probably sounds pretty weird, so allow me to explain. It feels like last Saturday was so long ago, but at the same time, it feels like Monday was yesterday. I guess the work week just tends to go by rather quickly. As of writing this sentence, I’ve been at work for an hour, but it felt like 15 minutes. It’s going by crazy fast.

Anyway, it’s finally time to reflect on everything I’ve gotten done this week! And by that, I mean the minimal work I did. This wasn’t as productive a week as I’d hoped it would be, but that’s okay. Maybe I just need to recharge my batteries a bit.

At the start of the week, I managed to program three new cutscenes for the prologue of my game. I still need to do one more cutscene that takes place outside the office between Jack and the character Melissa, and aside from the music, the prologue chapter will be ready to play! Though unfortunately, the computer I’d been using to work on the game actually started performing rather poorly due to what I assume is overheating, so I need to clean the fan out and assure it can function properly before I progress.

So it wasn’t a good week for my game, but it certainly was a good week for my book. I finally finished Chapter Sixteen after being stuck there for a few weeks, and I’m actually almost done with the book! I have a feeling it will end on Chapter Twenty. That’d be nice if it ended on a nice rounded number. After being separated for quite some time, all the characters are slowly making their way back to each other, gathering in one place to strengthen their armies and themselves to prepare for the final battle/rescue mission of the book. There are only three people left to save before all the characters are reunited and the stage for the next book is set.

Honestly, I’m super excited for the future of the Black Crystal series. I’ve done enough foreshadowing in this book to hint at the fact that there will be more books in the series, though I definitely want to get a decent start on the sequel before I publish this one. I want to make it like a regular thing to have the first chapter of each subsequent book to show up at the end of each book. And people seem to love it so far, so I guess I’ll just keep going until I know it should end.

It wasn’t a super productive week, which is easy to see from this short entry, but I’m very glad I got some work done on the book, and I’m proud of the work I’ve done. I’ll see you awesome people next week.

Leave a Reply

